China’s Reply When Asked About India’s Big Support At UN Security Council

China's Reply When Asked About India's Big Support At UN Security Council

China on Friday responded lukewarm to India’s election as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council, as a permanent member, it would like to increase cooperation with all newly-elected members of the UN’s top body .
Amid the current round of Indo-China military tension, members of the United Nations have been asked to respond with 184 votes out of a total of 192 for their response to India’s election to the non-permanent seat of the United Nations, the Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Jian did not choose India by name.

“The UNSC is an important organ for maintaining international peace and security after the UN Charter,” Zhao said.

“As a permanent member, China would like to increase cooperation with all parties of the UNSC, including non-permanent members jointly performing the responsibilities given by the Charter of the United Nations.”

While countries such as Germany, Norway and Ukraine have congratulated India on its resounding victory, China has not done so and neither has a Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman mentioned India.

China has been thwarting India’s efforts to become a member of the powerful United Nations body over the years, even as the four other permanent members pointed out, the US, Britain, France and Russia expressed support for membership of New Delhi Have done

China has said in the past that there were major differences among UN members over UNSC reforms that a “package solution” should be found to accommodate the interests and concerns of all parties.

India, a candidate backed by a group of Asia-Pacific states, received 184 votes out of a total of 192 in the Security Council elections on Wednesday.

Along with India, Norway, Ireland and Mexico will join the Security Council as non-permanent members for a two-year term starting 1 January 2021.

This is the eighth time India will sit on a horseshoe-shaped table of the Council. Earlier, India was elected for 1950–1951, 1967–1968, 1972–1973, 1977–1978, 1984–1985, 1991–1992 and more recently for 2011–2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *